Teaching Filipino Action Words with Tahanan Books’ “Kumilos Tayo!” Series

IMG_3934

Finding the most appropriate materials or books for a particular lesson is such a joy for independent homeschoolers like us. That’s why we were so happy to have bought Tahanan Books’ new board books designed for children who are 0-4 years old.

Kumilos Tayo, Ate! and Kumilos Tayo, Kuya!, written by Ompong Remigio and illustrated by Bunny Vivero are perfect for our preschool homeschool lessons this June.

 IMG_3933

We are starting to teach our little boy how to read simple Filipino words. This month, we have lined up seven letter sounds for Rio’s reading lessons. We also decided to teach him the different parts of the body in Filipino. The two “Kumilos Tayo!” board books made teaching these topics fun, easier and more relaxed for us.

 IMG_3927

Teaching the different parts of the body and the corresponding actions they make became easier when we used these board books.

Mata for ipikit and idilat

Paa for tumakbo and lumukso.

Kamay for ibuka and itulak.

 IMG_3928

The action words included in the books are familiar activities that children do. Using these words worked well in getting my son’s interest which also made it easier for him to focus on learning how to read.

Nagmano : Laging nagmamano si Rio kay Lolo Diko. 

Tumakbo : Mabilis tumakbo si Rio sa park.  

 IMG_3929

Syllables are also written in different colors. In the other Filipino book we are using, syllables are separated by hyphens (ma-ta-ba), making it harder for my little boy to blend the words when these are removed.

The one word per spread also encourages children and even parents to create stories. In “Kumilos Tayo, Ate!”,  the book starts with the word idilat and ends with ipikit. At bedtime, I use this book to engage my son in a conversation about the activities he did the entire day. He will tell me these words : laro, ligo, kain. When we reach the last page and word, it means it’s time to close his eyes and sleep.

 IMG_3925

I can’t wait to let Rio experience the word “sumipsip”as shown in the book. It reminds me of my favorite summer activity with my  kababatas (childhood friends) – sipping something out from those santan flowers.

We will definitely bring along these board books when we hit the beach, magbabasa kami habang nagduduyan! 

Nanays, what are your favorite Filipino storybooks? Name some of your children’s favorite Filipino action words. Let’s share our favorite picks and stories. 

37 thoughts on “Teaching Filipino Action Words with Tahanan Books’ “Kumilos Tayo!” Series

  1. This will be perfect when Jenae comes to her kinder1 schoolyear as they start to teach filipino at that time… thanks for letting us know about this, I’m sure other moms will be buying this for their kids as well.🙂

    Like

    • These books make our reading lessons more interesting. My diy flashcards are no match to these books. Hope you can get hold of these super helpful books and share your thoughts too.🙂

      Like

    • Why not? We can start with these simple and basic Filipino action words. I know there are comics written in Filipino. You can search for Manix Abrera’s works. Your teenager will love his works!

      Like

  2. I recently brought Filipino books from Adarna and I think they’re great for learning at home, especially since we do not speak Tagalog. Most of our children’s books here are US based so it would nice to add more books based here in the country. Thank you for these recommendations, Nanay!

    Like

    • You’re welcome, Pam. Filipino storybooks can be very helpful in teaching the richness of our culture to our children. We’re also working on our Filipino book collection. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. I can’t remember buying any Filipino storybooks for my kids, since I don’t think I had one when I was younger. We have Filipino textbooks though from the school but I admit, we only use it to study if merong homework. Hehe So far, I haven’t really taught my kids Filipino since we basically speak Bisaya. But good thing, we watch local TV programs naman everyday, so expose sila sa language.

    Like

    • I wish I knew how to speak in Bisaya. I took a few units of Ilocano in college but I can only recall a few words. Ang ganda ng mga wika ng ating bayan. It’s good that we expose our children to many languages as they grow old.🙂

      Like

  4. I want that book to help my son to read and speak tagalog clearly he is bulol in tagalog words and keeps on saying ” I don’t like tagalog”. He can understand naman and speaks a little

    Like

    • My son invents Taglish words like ligo-ing, walis-ing! Kaloka, di ba? It’s best to start with familiar action words in Filipino to make it easier for them to recall and say.

      Like

    • Yes, these books are very helpful. My son can easily identify the words with common situations and daily activities. Kanino ka nagmamano? He will enumerate the names of his Lolos! Thanks for reading!

      Like

    • Wow! You have Pepe and Pilar books.🙂 I used to read Filipino comics when I was young. It helped me to learn the language in the easiest, most simple and fun way. These Kumilos Tayo series are gems, very useful for beginners!

      Like

  5. it was rather tricky to teach the little ones Filipino, i wish i discovered this when my little man was just learning to speak tagalog!

    it is good that mums + children have more options these days. my favorite Filipino books are those adarna books they sell in schools, i have one called “ang prinsipeng ayaw magsalita”

    Like

    • You’re right, Vix! Parents even have apps to help them teach their children Filipino words. Joomajam uses music to make Filipino lessons more fun for our children. There’s also Alpabasa, a game-based learning tool to help parents and educators teach children how to read.🙂

      Like

  6. My son is still young, 19 months old only. But I guess, I will need these books in the future. The price of Php 150.00 is good enough already considering that it is a “board” type of book. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Yes, you can start reading aloud the action words to your son. He will love the illustrations in the books. Besides the action words, you can also teach him Filipino words through the drawings — bulaklak, aso, puno, aklat, etc.

      Like

  7. This is very helpful for WAHMs in teaching their kids at home. My kids were raised speaking in English. But my eldest, who’s now in Grade 6, can speak Filipino fluently. My second child, who’s 3 y/o, still has a lot of Filipino words to learn. Good thing her schoolmates mostly speak in Filipino so she can learn among her peers, just like my eldest.

    Like

Love to read your insights here

